American Giant No BS Straight Pant

The American Giant No BS Straight Pant was restocked, and is almost sold out again.

The No BS Straight Pant appears to be made of the same fabric as their No BS legging pant, a blend of pro modal, nylon, and spandex for a four-way stretchy, comfortable and forgiving fit. My pair is old, from the previous batch, but the current run of these looks the same as before based on the product description and photos.

I’ve worn these pants on casual Fridays, to work events that require professional attire but involve a lot of movement, and on days when I need to feel the comfort of a stretchy waistband and just cannot deal with the constricting feel of a non-stretch waistband or the scratchiness of polyester.

I thought these ran true to the size chart, but with no petite sizing offered, I had to have them hemmed. I had them hemmed to a more floor skimming length than what is shown in the product photos and might have them hemmed again to be ankle length at some point. I haven’t decided. They lean a little more towards wide leg on me than on the model in the product photos.

The fabric is thick enough to mostly avoid VPL and move like a pant, but I think if they somehow had a tad more structure, they would read even less casual. I definitely have found them to look more casual than my more tailored pants made of woven fabrics, and for that reason they don’t get as much wear.

The front pocket issue that other reviewers have noted goes hand-in-hand with this point. I’ve found the pockets have to be arranged just so in order to be invisible under the pant fabric. At some point when wearing the pants, the pocket outline will inevitably show through a little. The fabric that the pockets are made of is different than that of the pants and do not feel of good quality. I get why some people would want the pockets gone for these reasons, but I’ve found them useful. Hopefully these issues were resolved in the latest run.

The pant fabric did develop one pull after very little use, but I was able to sort of mush it to blend back in and I haven’t had any other issues with the fabric since. I’m not sure how it happened since I may have only washed it once at that point, on delicate and with cold water, most likely inside of a protective bag. Something else in the bag must have snagged it.

Overall, I am very happy with these pants, as I’ve found that pants with an elastic waistband are so much more comfortable than pants without, and most of my pants don’t have any stretch. It’s great to have the comfort of a sweatpant without actually having to wear sweatpants.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.